Comparative Analysis of Rob Ford vs. Silvio Berlusconi

Posted: December 3, 2013 in BLUF Posts

Comparative Analysis of Rob Ford vs. Silvio Berlusconi

A roundup of media tidbits

SIMILARITIES

 

 

Ford

Berlusconi

Enjoys

Le dolce dessert

Le dolce vita

 

Political affiliations

Boasts a ‘Ford Nation’ populist electorate

Created the populist People of Freedom Party

 

Tax reform policy

Lower government taxes

Lower his personal taxes

 

Confessionals

 

“I made mistakes, I drank too much, I smoked some crack some time. What can I say? I made a mistake, I’m human.”

 

“I am not a saint, you’ve all understood that.”

 

Comparisons to Jesus Christ

“It was kind of like what they did to Jesus.”

Brother Doug Ford, on Rob’s treatment by Toronto City council

“I am the Jesus Christ of politics. I sacrifice myself for everyone.”

On love

 

His mother loves him dearly

Bunga bunga!

On friendship

 (with prostitutes)

 

On Ford’s 2012 St. Patrick’s Day bash.

“I never had a prostitute here.”

His friend Alana is not a ‘sex trade worker’.

Explained that money and gifts to prostitutes was his way of providing financial sponsorship to boost their careers.

Level of Defiance

“Mark my words my friends, this is going to be outright war in the next election and I’m going to do everything in my power, everything in my power to beat you guys.”

 

“I am here. I am staying here. I won’t give up.”

 

 

Attitude

 

Pompous [Eng.]

 

Pomposo [Ital.]

A hyperbolic nature

Promised ‘outright war’ against city council as they remove mayoral powers: “You’ve just attacked Kuwait!”

“No political leader has suffered a persecution such as I have lived through.”

Political Incorrectness

“If you are not doing needles and you are not gay, you wouldn’t get AIDS probably. That’s the bottom line…. “

 

“It’s better to like beautiful girls than to be gay.”

Tactlessness

 

On fatally injured cyclists, March 7, 2007.

 “My heart bleeds for them when someone gets killed. But it’s their own fault at the end of the day.”

After a deadly earthquake in the Italian city of L’Aquila left tens of thousands homeless:

“Of course, their current lodgings are a bit temporary. But they should see it like a weekend of camping.”

Grotesques

“It says I wanted to eat her ______ and I have never said that in my life to her. I would never do that. I’m happily married and I’ve got more than enough to eat at home.”

Berlusconi allegedly told a journalist that a certain esteemed female politician was a “culona inscopabile,” which was roughly translated as an “un_____able fatass.”

Dislikes

Anyone who sounds vaguely left liberal

 

Left leaning adversaries

 

Poll popularity

A November poll reported a 42% approval rating for the scandal ridden politician even in light of admissions of crack cocaine use and rampant rumors of drunk driving and sexual misconduct.

Polls revealed that the scandal plagued Berlusconi has remained surprisingly popular with core supporters despite a slew of criminal charges and convictions.

 

 

DIFFERENCES

 

Weekend activity

Ordering a large pizza

Strolling through the piazza

The global response to his recent scandals

 

WTF?

That’s Italy for you.

Media relations

 

Detests the media

Owns the media

Been compared with

Deceased comedian Chris Farley

 

Former dictator Benito Mussolini

Style

 

Depends on what you mean by ‘style’.

Fake tan, Italian suits, plastic surgery

Confusion about Barack Obama

“He (Ford) loves Obama. The headlines of the papers when he won? ‘The White Obama.'”

Brother Doug Ford

“Obama… who is also handsome, young and suntanned.”

Inspired by

Former U.S. President Ronald Reagan for his small government politics

“[Benito] Mussolini never killed anyone. Mussolini used to send people on vacation in internal exile.”

Likes

Drinking and eating

 

Wining and dining

Cultural role model

 

Tony Soprano

Marcello Mastroianni

Astrological sign

 

Gemini

Libra

Leave a Reply

